South African Hotels

Central Drakensberg Tourism Information

Quick Facts: Central Drakensberg

  • Mlambonja Wilderness Area: Cathedral Peak, Ndumeni, Organ Pipes, Ndedema Gorge, Winterton
  • Mdedelelo Wilderness Area: Cathkin Peak, Monk’s Cowl, Champagne Castle, Loskop, Injasuti, Giant’s Castle Game Reserve, Estcourt, Mooi River, Nottingham Road

Introducing Central Drakensberg

The Central Drakensberg can be reached from the N3 via Bergville Estcourt and Winterton off ramps between the towns of Harrismith and Mooi River.  The central Drakensberg region comprises Cathedral Peak, Champagne Castle, Monks Cowl, Cathkin Peak, Injasuti and Giants Castle.

Different regions of the Central Drakensberg, KwaZulu-Natal (South Africa)

The Central Drakensberg in KwaZulu-Natal is divided into the Mlambonja Wilderness Area and the Mdedelelo Wilderness Area.

Mdedelelo Wilderness Area:

  • Cathkin Peak
  • Monk’s Cowl
  • Champagne Castle
  • Loskop
  • Injasuti
  • Giant’s Castle Game Reserve
  • Estcourt
  • Mooi River
  • Nottingham Road

Mlambonja Wilderness Area:

  • Cathedral Peak
  • Ndumeni
  • Organ Pipes
  • Ndedema Gorge
  • Winterton