South African Hotels

Luanda Province Tourism Information

Quick Facts: Luanda Province

  • Capital city is Luanda
  • Total population is about 6 million
  • Total area is 2,257 square kilometres
  • Subdivided into seven municipalities

Introducing Luanda Province

Luanda is one of 18 provinces in Angola. It is the smallest province in the country with an area of 2,257 square kilometres and is located along the coast. Luanda is divided into seven municipalities, which are subdivided into 47 communes. Luanda city is the capital of the province and the country.

About a third of Angola’s population reside in Luanda province. It has a subtropical semi-arid climate and produces cassava, maize, sweet potatoes, peanuts, beans and vegetables. Rich fishing grounds are found in the southern region.